By The Underwear

Michelle, my Co-ti-llion!

Michelle, my Co-ti-llion!

Sometimes as a parent, all I have to do is ask one, simple question and the information starts pouring out.

“Michelle, how was cotillion today?”

“OMG!  I was dancing with this guy and we were shagging, you know, to beach music.”

“Yeah.”

“He went to turn me and his coat button got stuck in my hair!  It wouldn’t come out.  It was so embarrassing.

Then, this other boy I danced with kept counting out loud.  1, 2, 3 – 1, 2, 3.  Like he was saying it where I could hear him.  I mean seriously?  It was so annoying.

And one boy I danced with was tiny.  He only came up to my chest.  He was soo cute.”

“Yeah.  Maybe don’t tell him that.  Guys usually prefer to be big and handsome.  Not small and cute like Moosey.”

“Yeah.  Oh, but Kimmey danced with a boy and he hung on to her underwear.”

“What?”

“It was sooo funny!  He grabbed her waist and held on so tight that he had her dress and her underwear in his hands!  But don’t tell her mom.”

“OK.”

“AND THEN, the boy I was sitting beside right before snack time asked me if I could run fast.  When I asked him why he wanted to know, he said he wanted to be the first one at the snack table because he didn’t like to stand in lines!  I was NOT RUNNING, in a DRESS, at COTILLION, to get Ruffles potato chips and stale cookies!  Dad, that boy really needs this class.”

“Sounds like it.”

“They taught us to sit like girls today.”

“Mmm.  How’s that?”

“You cross your legs but at the bottom, not at the top.”

“Why’s that?”

“I guess you cross your legs so you don’t show anybody your underwear.”

“Makes sense.  Might make that boy want to grab ’em huh?  What’d he look like?”

“I don’t know, but I didn’t dance with him.”

“How do you know?”

“Because no one held me by my underwear.”

“Ahhh.”

Purchase Danny’s Book:  Laughter, Tears and Braids

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Such a beautiful young lady! Love your stories!

    Reply
  2. I can hear her going 100 mph. Sounds like she had a great time.

    Reply
  3. I just love when they open up and share – especially when it’s an overload of information – those are some of the best conversations! It does sound like several of the guys need that class! And, I did know about crossing the legs at the ankles – but I learned it from the movie The Princess Diaries. 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 13, 2013

      We’ve seen that one about 360 times! Should have remembered from that.

      Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  November 13, 2013

    What a great pix! Loved seeing everybody at your reading, you really need to do on in F.Ville.

    Reply
  5. “Because no one held me by my underwear!” Priceless! 🙂 Pretty kiddo!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 13, 2013

      Favorite line of the night. Although I’m partial to the “Can you run fast” question as well.

      Reply
  6. CHall

     /  November 13, 2013

    What a little beauty! I’ll bet she has many admirers in that group of cotillion guys. Got a kick out of reading this one…

    Reply
  7. Pretty and smart, that one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

