Sunday Post 149: Love, Love, Love was all around

Uncle Jesse turned me on to this Christmas song a few years ago.  It’s by Dave Matthews and has some really beautiful lyrics.

The people he knew were
Less than golden hearted
Gamblers and robbers
Drinkers and jokers, all soul searchers
Like you and me

His heart was full of love love love
Love love love
Love love is all around

Love is easy for me.  It’s easy because I don’t work to associate with folks who I think might be unloveable to me.  I just avoid them.  I live in the Danny Tanner bubble.  Roll up my window when I come near a panhandler.

For me, it’s not even necessarily the outcasts of society I struggle to love though.  Nah, it’s the folks who get on my nerves.  Or groups of people who don’t hold my same views.

Yeah, those are the ones I struggle to love.  I think they struggle to love me too.

It’s interesting that Dave Matthews is right.  Jesus didn’t choose folks who were just like him to love.  He picked whores and tax collectors and some fairly surly human beings to hang around.  I like Brad and Robyn from work, Carnessa and Andy from the play, Jeff and Steve – the guys I occasionally go out with.  That’s who I love.

Maybe God’s calling us to do more.  Maybe He wants us to stretch a little further – a step or two out of our comfort zone.  There are certainly people out there I could work to appreciate a little more.

Gonna look to share a little more love, love, love this week.

Purchase Danny’s Book Laughter, Tears and BraidsAmazon or Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh

Three day special on the Kindle edition of Laughter, Tears and Braids – 50% off December 22 – 24!  Great Christmas gift – click here:  Amazon Kindle

If you have read the book and are willing to write a short review, it would be helpful:  Click here.  And thanks!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

