The Dog Blog

She is cute...

She is cute…

 

Four months ago my neighbor walked up my drive. I was outside working in the yard.

“Danny.”

“Yep?”

“This is our new puppy, Penny. She’s just a couple of weeks old. You wanna dog share?”

As we talked, I realized he and his children had purchased the dog without full permission from his wife. He was trying to save his marriage.

“It’s an interesting concept,” I admitted. If I was ever going to have a dog, split custody would be the way to go. You’d have built-in care when you went out-of-town, and you could split the expenses.

I briefly wondered if there was someone who might want to do the same with my kids.

I’ve always felt I was sort of robbing my girls of one of a child’s most precious experiences by not allowing them to have a pet, well save the Hermit crab. Perhaps this was a way to give them what they desperately wanted with only half the pain for me.

We decided that my neighbor would potty train the dog and that we would keep it when they went on vacation in several months. That would be our test drive.

It’s several months, we’re on day 7 of 9, and we’re failing the test.

I have spent the last week of my life arranging my schedule around Penny’s bowel movements. There is only one being on this earth that I’m willing to make adjustments to my schedule for bowel reasons:  ME. I do not like this.

I wake up at 6 AM so Penny can pee. She then eats. My neighbor told me that exactly ten minutes after she eats, we must take her outside because she WILL be pooping soon. The one thing he had wrong is “exactly” ten minutes. It could be less. It could be 9 or eight. Just ask my dining room carpet.

Oh, and just because she poops ten minutes later does not necessarily mean she ain’t gonna poo 20 or 30 minutes after that. Just ask the rug in my living room.

And guess what? I’m out of plastic Harris Teeter bags. Wanna know why? Because when I take Penny out to do her business, I then have to PICK HER BUSINESS UP and CARRY IT WITH ME for the rest of our walk. Yes, I have to pick up her dung, it’s a law in Raleigh. On Tuesday I happened to have an itchy nose. I had the leash in my left hand and bag of her brownies in my right hand, although I sort of forgot. When I reached up to scratch my nose, I realized I had %$#& about an eighth of an inch from my left nostril. I gagged.

At work I was telling a buddy of mine this story and he said, as if he had pondered this on several occasions, “You know Danny, you never see white dog poop anymore.” He then walked out of my office.

He’s right! When I was a kid, there was petrified white dog poop all over our neighborhood. When I’d mow the lawn it would fly out from under the blades.

Never, ever do I see that anymore.  I miss it.

You know why we don’t see it anymore?  It’s because we PICK UP OUR DOG’S FECES! That’s not right. We shouldn’t do that.  It should stay in nature where it belongs.

Although Penny is extremely sweet, and I have enjoyed her, this week has taught me that the Tanner family will not EVER be getting a pet, not even a fish. I don’t want to go outside at 11 PM waiting on a dog to decide which blade of grass to pee on. Twice I went myself in the yard while waiting. I thought that perhaps my example might spur her on; plus it was one less thing I’d have to do once I finally got back in the house.

The beautiful thing about the week is that I don’t think any of my kids will ever ask me if we can have a pet again. They’re as exhausted as I am!

I think I’ll keep my kids full-time. I think I’ll keep Penny on the occasional weekend. That will be plenty for all.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. mel ham

     /  August 20, 2014

    I see there is no convincing on what a joy it is to have a puppy. I love my alfie. He can hold his pee from Fayetteville to WVa and back unless there is a love seat at the Embassy. He has learned to poo on command pretty much and then proceeds to cover it. it goes to the poop area on the property where all the dogs go and I don’t pick up anything. He is a lot of company when Chad’s not around or Cam is doing the teenage thing closed out from the world. And He Thinks I am the BEST THING GOD created….well me and dead frog in the driveway, the other dogs poo or something that smells good in dog terms.

    Reply
  2. All I can say is LMAO. So sorry if this offends anyone.

    Reply
  3. David K

     /  August 20, 2014

    We have a grand-dog, Mabel. She is easy to deal with and never poops or pees inside. We put a sheet on the living room sofa and she sleeps there on her back, rear legs spread wide and he eyes usually open. Otherwise, she is quite elegant and refined. Having a grand-dog who visits occasionally is just enough dog for us. Sounds like you still have a way to go with Penny. And quit sniffing the bags – next thing we read you’ll have become addicted.

    Reply
  4. Judy Bright

     /  August 20, 2014

    Bruce, this is great!! You are an amazing writer!!

    Reply
  5. hahahahaha! I love my dog, but mainly because I love my doggie door more!
    Even better was when you tried to lead by example in the back yard! 🙂

    Reply
  6. wondersreviews

     /  August 20, 2014

    Lol ! So funny !
    I never being tempted by dogs, cause i always liked cats and bunnies more.
    Dogs are really cute and adorable, but every time i see someone walking his dog by night, i feel the boring. And when it’s in winter i imagine how it would be painfull to go out in the frozen weather.
    I have a bunny at home, it’s easier to take care. Cats are great too, it goes by itself to the WC. If you wanna a more independent pet, cat is better.
    Xoxo
    Michelle

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 23, 2014

      i thought bunnies pooped all the time.

      Reply
      • wondersreviews

         /  August 23, 2014

        Yeah but you can make the bunny to learn to do it in a case like cats. They wont do as well as cats but when they pop most of time it’s dry, and dont smell as heavily as dogs. Guess it’s cause bunny are végétariens :D. They are easier to take care. And you can keep it in a cage or a room, and let it come out on play time. So wont have durty things all around the house.
        Xoxo
        Michelle

        WondersReviews Recently Posted : [Gradient Nails] with Guerlain : Star Dust x Jardins de Bagatelle

      • Danny Tanner

         /  August 24, 2014

        I didn’t know you could train a bunny to go in a box. Very, very interesting.

  7. You have a real gift in the way you write! Our guide dog puppy is at the pooing and weeing everywhere stage but it does improve, and I think picking up the poo is better than treading in it!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 23, 2014

      Oh I might agree. i stepped in Penny’s poo once – in my closet. it was a very, very bad situation for all involved.

      Reply
  8. I have the best great dane diarrhea story if you ever want to hear it. It was horrible to experience, but it was so bad, John and I ended up laughing at each other. Let’s just say it was in the kitchen and lets just say I was scrubbing walls and cabinets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

