Sunday Post 186: A Little Perspective

The other night, one of my younger kids was studying history.  I walked into the living room, and she looked up at me and asked, “Dad, are we the good guys or the bad guys?”

“Like our family?”

“No.  Our country.”

Sometimes kids ask really great questions.

I’ve never seriously thought about reasonable people truly thinking of the United States as the bad guys.  Sure terrorists think that, but not regular folk.  We’re for democracy.  We follow the rules.  We support people throughout the world who are in need, those who are being mistreated.  We send aid to hungry people!

My kid’s comment made me spend a little bit of time thinking about other’s perceptions.  There are some people in the world who get on my nerves, but it has never occurred to me that I could be the person that is the get on the nerver!

Some people dress weird, and speak with funny accents.  You don’t think there’s a possibility that someone could possibly think that my bow ties are too showy or mock me at their dinner table?

Oh my gosh, what if I’m not right all the time?  Perhaps my way of dealing with the problems at work or with the kids is sometimes the wrong way.

Nah.  No way that could be the case.

 

Check the Tanners out in the September issue of Family Circle
Purchase Danny’s Book Laughter, Tears and Braids: Amazon or Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh

If you have read the book and are willing to write a short review, it would be helpful:Click here. And thanks!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Why no like button?

    Reply
  2. TheTraveller

     /  September 22, 2014

    So, sometimes we’re the bad guy – other times we’re the good one. Either way we support those who benefit us.

    Reply
  3. I’m not sure you can label an entire nation as the “good guys” and “bad guys”. There are simply too many factors. I have this discussion with my students every year when we talk about the explorers and how to their home countries they were seen as heroes while to the natives and as is generally accepted nowadays they were somewhat villainous. Looking back through history there are too many bad things in the world done by people who were considered to be generally good people. Therefore, classifying a people as overall “good” or “bad” is nearly impossible to do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

