Kay and Thom

tillis and hagan

Thom and Kay are killing me. If I see one more commercial with one candidate bashing another I’m gonna go out of my mind.

Apparently Thom Tillis hates education. He also hates teachers, the elderly and immigrants.

Kay Hagan seemingly has made millions off of the government stimulus package which she voted for – which surprises me because, according to Thom, she is constantly missing meetings and votes because she is always at campaign fundraisers.

Thom says that Kay won’t work with the Republicans.  She says that she was voted the most nonpartisan Senator.  Both of those statement cannot be true.

The other day my friend’s nine-year-old son asked:  “Who are you voting for dad?”

His father responded, “Well, I’m not sure yet.  Probably Kay Hagan.  I think I like her better.”

His son then shared, “You know, you can’t trust Thom Tillis.”

A nine-year-old has deduced that Thom Tillis cannot be trusted!

Why do we fall for it?  Aren’t we smarter than this?

They come on TV, a beautiful setting, its sunny outside.  They introduce themselves and admit that they are responsible for the contents of the message.  And then…

It turns to black and white.  Their opponent has their mouth half-open chomping down on a piece of fried chicken.  Their skin is washed out.  In bold the big letters and numbers start:

96% – the number of times Kay Hagan has voted with Obama, displayed beside the damning figure the most atrocious photo of the duo embracing.  Are Kay and Barack really THAT close?  Are they often standing arm in arm?  I wonder if they go camping together?

$495,000,000 – the amount of money Thom Tillis has taken straight from our school children.  Camera pans in on big-eyed orphans adding with an abacus because there is no money for a calculator. Or a pencil for that matter. By the way, he also hates kids.

And we believe them!  We allow these 20 second blips to color our thoughts about who will be RUNNING our country.  And the biggest problem is, I can’t figure out where to find the truth!  The newspaper is biased, the news stations are biased and the commercials are about as reliable as my 2003 gas-powered edger.

I give up!

And they wonder why folks don’t exercise their right to vote.  Geeze.

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Mel Ham

     /  October 29, 2014

    shame for the money spent on all of this too. Now I really don’t like either…and WRAL which is my news of choice…has evidently gotten a ton of $ because I can’t watch any news at 6pm without the volleyball in your face back and forth…I have attempted to vote twice early…I will vote…this will be a hot year….I’ll be glad when it’s over…

    Reply
  2. I never understood why anyone would vote for a person that openly bashes another person. I don’t vote because they are all crooked. Someone has to run the state and country, but it won’t be because I helped put them there.

    Reply
  3. I always love teaching rhetorical appeals during campaign season because my 7th graders can pick apart an ad so fast, your head will spin. Yet, somewhere, their little brains turn to mush and their eyes glaze over and then one day, they’re posting ridiculous ads and articles as adults on my Facebook feed. Sigh.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 29, 2014

      I’m glad you’re teaching that. heck, I’m glad you’re teaching!

      Reply
  4. Pam

     /  October 29, 2014

    You definitely keep me laughing with your posts. I so agree with you about the ads. I’m not quite sure who would be the better choice. It’s almost like a “before” and “after” infomercial. Anyway, you have the gift of writing. Pam

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 29, 2014

      It absolutely is the Before and After! Hadn’t thought of that!

      Reply
  5. My friend and I were discussing this the other day – I mentioned that i needed to get on line and do some research, so that I was a well informed voter. But, I don’t know why – trying to figure it out is so challenging! My friend goes “yeah, I get on line, and then give up after 3 minutes and just go in and vote the party line”
    🙂

    Reply
  6. David

     /  October 29, 2014

    Remember what Rush Limbaugh mused, “Politics is show business for ugly people.” The payoff for all this is that they leave town and forget us for six years. And that might be worth the stress of the season.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 29, 2014

      Because I don’t listen to Rush I had not heard that. Pretty darn funny.

      Reply
  7. Dana

     /  October 29, 2014

    Exactly why I haven’t voted! I know that it is important but politics are too much and people are too crazy!!

    Reply
  8. You’re so right. There are lots of races in my state that I didn’t vote at all in. Just because a candidate is in “my party” doesn’t automatically mean they’re qualified enough to earn my vote. Ballot measures, on the other hand, I voted for. Those actually seem to matter to the average person.

    Reply
  9. Devonia Cochran

     /  October 30, 2014

    Quoting an octopus in a cartoon — ” I don’t trust the Atlantic or the Pacific.” Sums it up !

    Reply
  10. well i never saw this blog coming. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Anne

     /  October 30, 2014

    Please just make it stop!! I feel a civic duty to vote. But I agree with the poster who said that it’s hard to find real information. Every source is going put its own spin on things. And they’re not going to do whatever it is they’re promising, anyway.

    I’ve often believed that the whole campaign thing should be about who can raise the most money (just as it is now.) But they should be required to accumulate it, not spend it. On the predetermined date and time, balances will be compared, and whoever has the most, wins. Then the money goes to charity. Better than spending $100M on TV ads and mailbox litter!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 2, 2014

      someone else suggest that they give 20% to charity! great idea!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

