48 Hours

Problematic suitcase

Michelle is going on a two night trip to the mountains with school.  She will be gone approximately 48 hours which, coincidentally, is the same amount of time it took us to pack.

It went like this:

“I have nothing to wear on this trip!”

“You have three dressers and a closet full of clothes.”

“But none of it is right for this trip.”

“You are going to the mountains for school.  You wear yoga pants, t-shirts and a coat!  You have all of said items.”

She looked at me as if I could not possibly understand what was going on in that little mind.  Her look was warranted.

She began digging in her middle drawer and pulled out a pair of black pants made of stretchy material.  “I’ll wear these  on the way down.  Actually, could you check the weather?”

“By all means Vera Wang.  It’s going to be 65 tomorrow, 63 on Thursday with possible rain and only 47 on Friday.”

“Then should I wear these pants instead?”  She held up a different pair of black stretchy pants.

They are both black; they are both long.  They are twins.  How can one override the other?

“Those appear to be much more appropriate for the climate.”

“I’m going to try them on.”

“Don’t you wear those often?”

“Yes.”

“Then why are you trying them on?”

“I need to see how they look with my tennis shoes.”

“I bet they look the same way that they did last Saturday when you wore them with your tennis shoes.”

She ignored me.  She then pulled out multiple white t-shirts as possible matches for her black pants.  I would have chosen the one on the top.

She then repeated the process with her jeans, a pair of crop yoga pants and a pair of leggings.  When done, she put one pair back on with her sweatshirt and a rain jacket.

“AHHHH,” she grumbled.

“What’s wrong now?”

“This stupid coat does not match my tennis shoes.”

“Actually, blue and pink go well together.”

“No.  They don’t.  And look, when I zip it I look fat.”

“You have two t-shirts and a sweatshirt under it.  Jimmy Walker would look plump in that getup.”

“Who?”

We then went to the attic to pick out a suitcase.  The Vera Bradley bag in her closet would not work.  She was afraid she was going to have to carry it too far.

“I want the one with the wheels.  The one with the pink polka dots.”

“It will certainly match your rain coat.  But I’m not sure about your tennis shoes.”

“Your suitcase does not have to match your tennis shoes.  You’re being ridiculous.”

“Oh.  I’m being ridiculous?”

“Yes.  And weird.  And don’t write about this!!”  She brushed her hair back with her hand, “I’m tired of being famous.”

I don’t think she was serious.  Well, about the last part.

Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. Lee Ashley Bonfield

     /  November 5, 2014

    That is hilarious. MUCH different than our packing experience that went more like this. Me: “Liam, we need to get you packed for your trip to the mountains. ” Liam: “Mom, you are so good at that packing stuff. You are like a master packer.” And then he disappeared. And I am 100% certain that he will not match anything with his shoes or anything else while he is gone!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 6, 2014

      I have friends with boys who go to camp for a week and when they return home just one shirt and one pair of shorts are dirty! Not the case with girls!

      Reply
  2. TheTraveller

     /  November 5, 2014

    Daughters 🙂

    Reply
  3. My daughter is ten. The things I have to look forward too. I started her early on “who cares if it matches”, though. I just grab random socks and throw them at her and tell her to put them on. It seems to work so far.

    Reply
  4. KittyLuvr

     /  November 5, 2014

    oh you have captured this moment perfectly..I have survived many packing episodes and they all played out the same….only half the clothes were worn! AND they always come back with something that is not their’s! I so enjoy your writing!

    Reply
  5. hahahahahahahaha! “I’m tired of being famous!” That’s too funny!

    Of course, my son does have a tendency to go “You’re going to blog this, aren’t you?”

    Yup, pretty much. 🙂

    Reply
    • I was curious what teenagers think about having stories of them on their mama’s blog… do their friends ever read your post and make fun of your kids?

      Reply
      • Danny Tanner

         /  November 6, 2014

        Occasionally a friend will mention something but they actually like it. My older two asked me recently why I’d only been writing about the younger. It’s because they haven’t been around!

      • Nope, most of them enjoy it. Mr. T’s girlfriend told me that she was reading old blogs and giggling over the stories. And several others have loved their cameo appearances!

      • Awesome. .. I didn’t even think about girlfriends and boyfriends reading it 😉

      • I have a Mr. T too… my youngest… Titus!

    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 6, 2014

      The life of a blogger’s child!

      Reply
  6. Mom

     /  November 5, 2014

    I love it! She’s just a normal girl. You will have to admit…this is new behavior for Lucy. It’s just funny to watch. Bailey has advised her through the years about what she should wear, at times she has asked Annie T. if something matched, now, she is taking control of her on wardrobe. That’s good even if it is hard on Dad. As I sit by and watch, I just get a kick out of seeing the changes in the girls and how “ole Dad” deals with it. You’re on the right track…a sense of humor works the best.

    Reply
  7. Wait… a trip into the mountains? I want to do that… but my school doesn’t do stuff like that. Even if they did, it is highly likely that for me, getting ready would take a maximum of 30 minutes, and my parents would be fussing over what I wore. haha anyways, don’t let Michelle see this post… 🙂

    Reply
  8. Goodness… I’ll stop bitching about my 7 year old daughter wanting me to pock out her outfits… seems getting dressed becomes quite an ordeal.

    Reply
  9. Hahaha! The things you wrote about. I just LOLed late at night.

    I mean no offense to anyone w/ daughters but this is why I’d struggle of I ever got a daughter. Much respect to what you do dave, you’re a dope dad 👏

    Reply
  10. This is a great post! I have three girls who are little… I am “looking forward” to packing their bags with them for school trips…
    :o)

    Reply
  11. Haha. Classic girl moments. Love it. Kinda glad I have three boys/one girl when I read stuff like that!!!

    Reply
  12. Aunt Susan

     /  November 5, 2014

    it is sooooo tough being a teenager and you just don’t understand! I feel sooooo sorry for her! (not) hope she had a good time, and remember you will all look back at this and laugh. see you in a few at the pot banger’s house!

    Reply
  13. I’m just laughing about the trip to the mountains, like it’s not like your are going to be doing a 14er. I wear the same clothes as I do when I go to the Triangle. 🙂 Was flannel packed?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

