It’s Christmas Carol Time… Again

I think I'm singing on key...

I think I’m singing on key…

This is our fourth year performing in Ira David Wood’s A Christmas Carol and after being cast as a dancer last year, I had a pretty strong inkling that my talents were fully exposed.  I assumed I would, from this day forward, dance on stage.  In fact, I was fairly certain that talent scouts from other shows would be after me and frankly, I have no more time to perform.  I was saving it all for the fortieth anniversary show of Charles Dickens’ play right here in Raleigh, NC.  I wanted to please my hometown constituents.

Much to my surprise, not only did other talent scouts not call, but I was not asked to shake my legs this year in our annual Christmas performance.  Oh, I’m in the big numbers with all of the other townspeople, but the second act party scene with leaps, jumps and herkies, will not highlight my abilities as was the case last year.

I was deflated.  I sulked for days after receiving the news.

I complained to the girls, “How could this be?  How could they not see my talent with movement?  I mean look at these jazz hands!!”

DJ reminded me, “YOU CANNOT DANCE!  You don’t even march correctly! Didn’t you learn that in preschool?”

“Have you seen me shag?” I protested.

“Did they shag in the 18th century?  Do you remember how long it took to teach you Shuffle/Ball/Change?”

“That’s a VERY complicated step!”

I guess they decided they wanted to focus on my vocals, or perhaps my acting abilities.

We are reminded to act like it’s cold in the play, it is set in December.  And I shiver like a pro!

I mean, I can sort of understand that perhaps they wanted to give others a chance to shine.  And, well, maybe I am better with all of my focus on shivering.  That’s really important.  Sets the entire tone for the show.

I won’t be in the second act dance number this year, but DJ will.

Bailey ACC 2014 2

In fact, after three years of trying out to be a dancer, she has been cast in five big show stoppers.  In one she’s wearing an outfit that is actually a bit revealing.  Thankfully she has a feather fan that covers most of her business.

I estimate that I’ve spent $26,000 on ballet and jazz lessons over the past 18 years for that child.  Incidentally, that is the average cost of a wedding in America.  I should have just taught her myself.

But I guess the investment has actually paid off.  She’s knocking it out on the dance floor this year.

I would strongly suggest that you come to see her.  This is the 40th year of the production, big things are in store.  And you might even catch me bustin’ some moves in a few of the big numbers.  I’ve been practicing!

40th Anniversary of Ira David Wood’s A Christmas Carol

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Mary Anthony

     /  November 19, 2014

    I hear about the dances step by step from Mrs. Rich. If I am Mrs. Rich’s mother, does that make me DJ’s Grammy? I was blessed to meet you several weeks ago at ACC rehearsal. Sorry about the dance thing for you but happy for DJ. WE’ll be there on Dec. 14.
    Mary in JAX, FL.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 19, 2014

      We’re going to be looking for you after the show! Oh, and Mrs. Rich and I are hanging out in the Fezzi Wig number, doing a little freeze action and a jig on the side!

      Reply
  2. Kim B

     /  November 19, 2014

    Kensi, Kelley (Cam’s girlfriend and I) are all coming to see those Ham’s in action!!!!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 19, 2014

      alright! You will see the star but she’ll be in drag so you’re gonna have to look closely!

      Reply
  3. I’ve been waiting for the announcement about this years performance! And I really believe that you out shined everyone else last year, and they just couldn’t come up with a cast to compliment your mad dancing skills and decided to put your shiver skills on display. That’s totally what happened!

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  November 20, 2014

    Ohhh you should print out what Kate just said and frame that! I am glad to see you are all doing it again. Plus Uncle “Jesse” Can’t wait to see you guys in a week at Sallie’s for fried turkey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

