Sunday Post 196: Thankful for Hope

You know what I’m thankful for this year?  I’m thankful for hope!

What if you lived life, day in and day out, with no hope?  No possibility that life could get better?  No sense that you could get through the hard times?  No potential to meet those you love in another life?  That would make me miserable!

I’ve heard some pretty compelling arguments not to believe in God.  I have listened to folks who can quite logically explain that this world could have easily been created simply through science.  There are those who are fast to point out inconsistencies in the bible adding evidence to their “There is no God” case.  I can see their side.  I see inconsistencies as well.  I have a lot of questions too.

But man, I have hope!  And I can guarantee you this, it’s a much better way to live.

I can picture heaven.  I fully plan on seeing Lisa again, and my buddy Trey, and my friend Brenda, and grandparents for days!  I sort of get excited when I think about it!  Maybe when my demise seems a little closer I’ll sing a different tune, but for now, I’m not scared to die.  I got stuff to do on the other side – so many stories to share.  They aren’t gonna believe I wrote a book!

I have hope for a good, long, happy life with good friends, grandkids, and close connections with my daughters.

Sometimes I’m scared or uneasy, fearful of the future or worried about some stupid little problem.  But overall, I have hope and faith that in the long haul, it’ll all be alright.

The opposite of hope is doubt.  It’s pretty clear which is the better alternative!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. It’s the one thing I refuse to argue with someone (other than politics) because you can’t prove Faith. I look at the bible as a guideline, and I pay attention to the scripture in red. No matter how holy the book is, it was still written by man, and therefore is subject to have mistakes. Live your life with a good heart, pure intentions, and an unfailing faith that there i more to this life than just the here and now. Having hope is essential in ones life.

    Reply
  2. Wow! This is a much more uplifting post than the one I just wrote, and I thank you for yanking me out of the doldrums. Was just thinking of you earlier today, and the fact that when I started reading your blog you had been without Lisa for about 3 years. I am now working on year 3, and can’t believe I find myself in that place I envied a couple of years ago.

    I, too, have hope, and I have no fear of dying. I’ve done a lot of reading, and I believe wholeheartedly in the afterlife and that the veil between our world and the spiritual one is very thin. We just need to be aware and to believe. Thank you for this cheerful post; it helped me! today!

    Reply
  3. Such a positive post. I so hope that my hope of breaking away from the fear of death doesn’t bury itself under the sheet of doubt.

    Reply
  4. Verna smith

     /  December 19, 2014

    In 1982, colon cancer took my husband at the age of 49. I was 45, and the boys were 17 and 1/2, and 16. We got through it day by day. Each year I bought a dated Hallmark tree ornament as a memorial with loving things printed on them, for about 20 years. I put up a smaller tree now, but putting those de o’s on my little tree brings back memories. After all is said and done, memories are what we gave left. It is bittersweet, but I enjoy all the holidays with the boys and my grand girls. I have never lost hope that we will all be together again on the other side. A few years after he died I was at a church conference and at the height of worship, I felt the peace of Someone telling me everything was going to be all right. The holidays are enjoyable, but there is always the lack of that presence in flesh and bone. That presence is with us in spirit.

    Reply
  5. Great piece, perception, and so what Iwas needing to read tonight. Hope & Faith.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

