New Year’s Eve and the IRS

In 1997, I ushered in New Years in Washington, DC.  I remember it well.  I have a photo of Lisa, me and the two other friends who joined us on that trip.

Lisa was pregnant with DJ but rallied for a long night that concluded with a 2 AM Metro ride Metro back to our hotel.  On our walk to our stop, my bladder was about to burst.  I had few options walking down Pennsylvania Avenue in the wee hours of the night but noticed a couple of trees ahead of me in front of a large white limestone building.   As I pondered my choices, I took full advantage.   As I walked up to the elm, I noticed the words cut into the cornerstone of the French Renaissance facade: Internal Revenue Service.

Yes, at 2 in the morning on January 1, 1997, I tinkled on the IRS.

I got no issues with our government or paying my fair share of taxes, but I will have to say there was something very rewarding about that act.

In December, my high school senior, DJ Tanner, asked if she could go to DC for New Year’s Eve with a friend.   I wasn’t excited about the two of them driving up there alone, but they were staying with the other girl’s extended family.  And frankly, I would much rather her be up there happy, than with the rest of the family miserable.

I gave her the dad speech:

  • Be responsible
  • Be aware and safe
  • Don’t spend too much money
  • Don’t pee on any governmental facilities

-all the normal things a parent worries about.

With some prying, I got a decent summary of the trip when she returned home on New Year’s afternoon.  DJ, who has a knack for knocking out some pretty neat videos, took the photos from their adventure and tossed together his short film:

I love social media when used to give me a glimpse into my kids’ lives.  I also love that there are no photos of the IRS building in this montage.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. You did what many of us only dream of doing…… *sighs*

    Reply
  2. very cool video – I think Emma will have a new role model after she sees this:)

    Reply
  3. Wow! How fun, and how I cringe thinking my son might ask me to do something like that next year!

    Reply
  4. good gosh , you are an awesome dad. I hope i’m this brave in a few more years. ok so moving on, how in the heck did she make that video. that was so so so so and so cool. I love seeing them sing in the car, it reminds me of my road trips in college with girlfriends and singing at the top of our lungs. Letting her do this says a lot about her and a lot about you. Rock on Daddy!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 8, 2015

      I have no idea how she does that. I can hardly log in to gmail. But she’s pretty good at it!

      Reply
  5. Mel HAM

     /  January 9, 2015

    full circle….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

