On The Go!

how-to-avoid-traffic-jams-35319_2

Last Thursday night DJ and I headed out for our last college tour. It was accepted students’ day at George Washington University in DC. We left Raleigh at 5 PM.

Stephanie fussed as I walked out the door, “Dad, you’re NEVER home!  You’re gone all the time!”

I reminded her that she was the one who spent four days the week before on a school sponsored Outward Bound trip and that it was also she who had plans both Friday and Saturday nights for the weekend that was before us.  That didn’t seem to matter to her. Apparently I should be at home when she wants me there. Or, to be safe, always.

Although in my head I knew she was being unreasonable, I  did feel a bit guilty for leaving.

I had warned DJ that we had to leave Washington right at 2 PM on Friday so that I could get back before 7 to see Michelle’s school play. Although she had only a small part, I felt it important that her parent be in the audience.

DJ understood, “Dad, we always leave these college visits early.  You always have to get back home for something.”

She said it matter of factly, no irritation intended.  But, irritation was taken. Another slight breech to the parenthood portal.

At 4:30 Saturday, I gave up. We were right around Fredericksburg, Va, and traffic was at a standstill, similar to what it had been since we pulled out of downtown two and a half hours earlier.  I was doomed to disappoint again.

I jumped from I-95 to US 1. I was working my GPS and my iPhone traffic alert aggressively seeking alternative routes.

One thing is clear:  I’m going to have a massive heart attack in my car one day.

When we finally hit Richmond, it was 5PM. The GPS indicated we’d get to the theater by 7:45. That’d be too late. At least I’d equally disappoint all of my kids!  No favorites.

I cranked up the speed and wondered what was worse, teaching my 17 year old that it was OK to break traffic laws in the name of Peter Pan or lying to my 11 year old, telling her how much I enjoyed the performance i did not see.

A 17 year old has a more mature mind.  I broke the law.

We came to a screeching halt at 7:19 in the driveway of the school. I jumped out of the car and ran toward the door. The gas tank light was on empty. The place was dark, Act 1 complete.  The lights came up, and Michelle entered stage left.

Hot damn!  I made it.

It’s hard to be a parent.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Having one eleven year old is hard enough. I don’t know how you do it with three. You really are a super hero. Your kids will see that one day.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 4, 2015

      I hope they do but sometimes I’m just not sure!

      Reply
  2. YAI!! For semi happy endings…

    Reply
  3. Michele Barrows

     /  April 29, 2015

    God is good! All praise to him for that one and every one!!

    Reply
  4. Praise the Lord! Hang on for the grandchildren, they are also awesome!

    Reply
  5. It IS so hard juggling kids schedules!

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  April 30, 2015

    at least you try, and later on ALL of them will realize that.

    Reply
  7. You’re such a fantastic dad! Love reading your posts

    Reply
  8. Hang in there! You are doing a great job! Love your posts.

    Reply
  9. It sure is! Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

