Congratulations GW!

GW Logo

I am so proud!

My girl, DJ, has finally made her college decision.  Selfishly, I was hopeful she’d end up near home.  We have some great universities right here in the Triangle:  Duke, UNC, NC State.  Selfishly, I wanted her to end up at a public institution for obvious reasons, $$$.

She narrowed it down to three:  UNC, Furman in Greenville, SC, and George Washington University in DC.  Three weeks ago she visited UNC, ate dinner with a friend and came back pumped.  I thought we had a winner.

Two weeks ago, we visited Furman for accepted students’ day.  She met a girl she really liked.  They talked about rooming together.  I thought we had a winner.

But last week we took our trip to DC.  At the end of the day, I headed to get the car from the parking garage, only $23 for the day.  As I walked down H Street, I thought to myself, This IS it.  I can just tell in my gut.  This is where she’s going.  It is the furthest away from our house.  It is the most expensive of her choices, but I can really see her here. 

A small lump settled in my throat.

This is not what I want.  I want her to live at home and go to Meredith college .5 miles from the house!  I want to drop her off at school on my way to work!  I want her to eat dinner with the family on Sundays after church!  I want her to be three again!

I was convinced this would be her choice and actually, I was a little excited.  It was the excited you get for someone else, especially your kid.  It just felt right.  I began to mentally prepare, she’s really not going to Meredith.  Her deadline from me to decide was last Monday, I had to make a deposit and complete paperwork by Friday.  At 7 PM that night, she walked in the kitchen and said, “I can’t decide.  I think I want to go to UNC.”  We talked for an hour and decided to wait another two days.  She was volleying like a shuttlecock.  In the meantime, I convinced myself she would stay nearby.  I was pumped!  I’d see her occasionally!  I’d be able to afford to feed my other two children!

It’s now Wednesday night.  After dinner I went to her room, we were cutting it close; decision day was only 48 hours away.  I wasn’t sure what to expect. I approached the bed with caution (she hasn’t been the easiest person to deal with lately; come to think of it, neither have I).

“Have you made a decision?  Where do you want me to put the deposit?”

“GW.  Don’t ask questions.”

The lump returned.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes.”

And there you have it.  The kid that sprang from my loins is growing up.  It’s hard to let go.

As one of her friends said, “Congratulations GW!  You got DJ!”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Congrats and good luck!!

    Reply
  2. Joyce

     /  May 6, 2015

    Congratulations! Lisa is so proud!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! I completely understand. My daughter just signed with UCLA and I feel that very same excited lump! It’s going to be a great year for them and the us parents are going to survive too!! Deep breath.

    Reply
  4. I can’t even!! Last night I went to sit in on a Senior class meeting that I’ll be a part of next year, and just couldn’t even let my brain think about all that meant!!

    Reply
  5. Annette Heath

     /  May 6, 2015

    Great choice….my daughter is a Duke grad who majored in public policy…where better than the Sanford School of PP. She headed straight to DC after graduation. She worked for (dare I mention?) John Edwards, as a staffer. She left the Senate to work for IBM Gov’t sector for a couple of years, then went to GW for her MBA. She loved it there – completed her study in Paris before graduation. She maintains a great relationship w/the MBA program and the Dean. She returns to GW often and to Duke via invitation, and enjoys both tremendously. She is chief of staff at Boeing Defense in DC and travels globally. Have to say she loves her job and living in Alexandria. Good choice D.J. – bon voyage!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 9, 2015

      WOW! Sounds like she has been incredibly successful. I hope DJ follows her lead – except I hope DJ becomes chief of staff at Boeing Defense in Raleigh!

      Reply
  6. Unique Get Together Society

     /  May 6, 2015

    Reblogged this on Unique Get Together Society and commented:
    As parents letting go can be so hard, thank you for sharing

    Reply
  7. Congratulations – I just got the call from my oldest, Caroline a freshmen at Meredith (LOL) that her last exam is over and she has just completed her first year – the time goes so fast – Good Luck to you and “DJ”!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 9, 2015

      I’ll actually be glad when she is all settled and happy. The unknown is stressful.

      Reply
  8. justagirl

     /  May 6, 2015

    Just made a college decision myself! It’s such a tough choice but I’m glad she got through it! Good luck to her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

