Boys’ Weekend!!

IMG_0840

My daughters HATE it when I refer to time with my male friends as “boys’ night” or “weekend with the boys.”  Perhaps they would prefer Old Man Gathering.

Toss us a bone!  Let us be boys on occasion.

So the fellas and I hit Charleston, SC, a few weeks ago to get away and act like we were 19 again.  Only this time we didn’t need fake IDs.

We stayed in a VRO, Vacation Rental by Owner.  It was a beautifully renovated three bedroom Charleston style home nestled between a brothel and a crack house.  I think that’s why the price was right.

 

Thirty years ago, the location could have been interesting, but this time, we didn’t focus on connecting with our neighbors.

The great thing about being 50-year-old boys is that we now have the money to dine at really nice restaurants and pay for top shelf liquor.  The bad thing about being 50-year-old boys is that the dinner gives us gas and one drink pretty much seals the night.

There were a ton of cute women prowling around downtown at 11 PM.  They were about the same age as DJ.  Oooooo.  I wonder if they could tell we were older.

We had a great time watching TV shows like Naked and Afraid, walking by the crack house at 1 AM, ogling women and pulling each others’ fingers.  Oh, and we qualified for the AARP discount at lunch.

The best of both worlds.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. hahahhahhahahhah I hope I can be this positive when I’m older.

    Reply
  2. Haha interesting piece

    Reply
  3. Wayne

     /  October 21, 2015

    50 year old men do like to think they are still 19 year old boys in their minds. Fortunately their bodies know better!

    Reply
  4. Your blog made me smile.

    Reply
  5. Enjoyed this. Older doesn’t mean dead and gone, maybe more like free to be… us. I know, I am one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

