The Return of the DJ

IMG_0038 (3)

DJ in the house!

DJ has returned!  The eldest, the heir to the throne, is home.

A friend who has a son who is a junior in college told me to get ready.  He said his wife was recently walking around the house with a basket full of toilet paper rolls.

“What are you doing honey?”

“I’m hiding the toilet paper.”

“Why?”

“Douglas is coming home for Thanksgiving.”

“Yeah.  I’m aware of that.”

“You know what he does don’t you?”

“No.”

“Throughout the week he steals our toilet paper and puts it in his car so he doesn’t have to buy it when he returns to school.”

“Interesting.”

I was ready.  I counted my rolls.  I don’t think DJ is a Charmin swindler.  When she left we still had a nice stash.

She has, however, left every garment she brought back to the State of North Carolina in my den.  Shoes on the kitchen bar stools, coats, and there were several, on the floor by the back door, a bra in the bathroom.  Within 24 hours her bedroom looked like it had been hit by a category 4 storm.  Just like high school!

How does this child live in a 13’ x 13’ room with three other people?

On Tuesday she told me that I could expect my credit card bill to be a bit higher this month.

“Dad, have you noticed I really don’t use your credit card at school?  Just like you asked!”

“You have done a good job of keeping your expenses down.”

“Yea, and I have $290 left on my GW card to get me through the next three weeks.  Tons more than any of my other friends!”

“Live it up!”

“But since I’m back home, I figured you’d be OK with me charging my expenses this week.  I’ve sort of eaten out a couple of times with friends, purchased a few Christmas presents, oh, and I’m getting my nails done tomorrow – on you!  Thanks.”

We have eaten at her favorite restaurants, watched her favorite movies On Demand, cooked the meals she likes the best and shopped for clothes that she desperately has to have.

“Dad, I’m gonna need shoes for my winter formal.  You might as well buy them now.  These are on sale.”

Apparently the last four pairs I purchased for the four high school winter formals just won’t do even though her foot stopped growing in eighth grade.

Frankly, I don’t know how she has survived this long without the critical articles of clothing we purchased this week.  Bless her heart.

On Thanksgiving Day, it became grossly apparent to me how children fall back into their high school behaviors as my 78 year old parents worked their butts off in the kitchen while my brother sat in the den watching TV.  The gall.  Oh, and he wouldn’t even pass me the remote!

What goes around comes around.

Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I look forward to these years with my daughter …..

    Reply
  2. Kittyluvr

     /  December 2, 2015

    I wasn’t prepared for the TP thief….this had not happened in the last 3 years but with my daughter moving to on-campus apartment, the theft has started!! And paper towels too!

    Reply
  3. So, mine graduates HS this year…. apparently I need to start stocking up on TP now! And what a joy to have her back for the holiday 🙂

    Reply
  4. My eldest Sons easily get through a toilet roll a day – jeez, they haven’t even got a bra to stuff like me 🙂

    Reply
  5. Not looking forward to my daughter leaving for college year after next! But sounds like things will be “back to normal” when she comes home for the holidays 🙂

    Reply
  6. Kathy S

     /  December 2, 2015

    I love, and I am guessing you do too, the look of your den! It means the nest is full and I will be treasuring that look at Christmas time! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Reply
  7. Kooky Chic

     /  December 2, 2015

    Thanks for the heads up and great advice about the loo rolls. Very funny.

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  December 3, 2015

    like you didn’t steal scroll rolls! Remember I know you mama!
    Good to see DJ looking so nice, hope your prepping for the net one to leave!
    see ya in a few weeks.

    Reply
  9. what a fun read

    Reply
  10. you forgot toiletries. I stole toiletries, and sandwich bag boxes, garbage bags, air fresheners.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

