Six and Counting

bruce and Lisa

It’s beautiful to remember the happy.

Six years ago today, our wife, mother, daughter, and friend died.  I want all who knew her, especially my girls, to remember the good stuff.  And there was plenty!

Her fingernails were impeccable.  She used gel.  It coats your fingers with some fake substitute for your claws, and it costs a fortune.  She argued that they last “forever.”  I don’t know what forever she was referring to, but in my book a couple of weeks does not constitute a lifetime.

One time the two of us cooked Thanksgiving dinner.  I thought the neck bone stuffed in the turkey’s cavity was his penis.  She didn’t know any better either.  We burned everything, except dessert which was grossly under-cooked.  Cheesecake soup anyone?  I’ve never laughed so hard in my life.

She was a sale shopper.  Problem was that she’d buy a blouse at a “great price” with no matching bottom.  When she died, I found countless items of clothing with the tags still on.  I’m sure she would have worn them, eventually.

She gave our girls wings.  When we dropped DJ off at four week camp for the first time, my daughter teared up.  I ran to the car to get the heck out of Dodge.  Lisa, on the other hand, gave her words of encouragement and distracted her with new friends.  “I am nurture,” I explained to my wife on our way home.  “You, you give them courage.”  I had done my job, she had done hers.

Fortunately, all got some of her bravery genes.

She insisted on matching dresses for the kids when they were younger.  In one Christmas photo, when DJ was about 9, she stood behind Santa in a dress that made her look like a prairie child.  It didn’t matter.  The whole family blended so well.

She once stood me up on an early date in our courtship.  I was so stinkin’ mad.  But apparently not mad enough.

We spent our first weekend together hiking on Grandfather Mountain, I flossed at the apex.  And she still married me.

Our honeymoon got cancelled on the night of our wedding because American Airlines pilots went on strike.  I’ll never forgive those greedy mongrels.

She once bought a rug for DJ’s bedroom that cost so much she never divulged what she paid.  To this day I do not know.

She built relationships with everyone she came in contact with.  She was as close to our babysitters as she was to her college roommates.  Her hair dresser was a confidante.  Those at work called on her to approach their boss, because he loved her to death.

She enjoyed a bit of gossip and was the last person to walk out of the church on any given Sunday morning, because she was talking.

She was a leader in our community and could organize a thousand high school kids, a Junior League Committee or a kitchen drawer with ease.  But she seldom lifted a finger until the day before a deadline.

I fell in love with her on a canoe at Camp Seafarer.  She got to me.  There was just something about that Lisa Tanner that I couldn’t shake.

I am thankful for the years we had.  I am thankful for these beautiful memories.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Relish the good, remember the great, live the dreams you two had!! Thinking of you today.

    Reply
  2. Shelli

     /  February 24, 2016

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers. Today especially❤

    Reply
  3. Evie Lichti

     /  February 24, 2016

    Cherish the memories . . . no one will ever be able to take them away! God Bless!

    Reply
  4. May she rest in peace. Amen.

    Reply
  5. It’s obvious how much you love(d) her. Thanks for sharing and reminding me to cherish what I have. Sending prayers to all of you.

    Reply
  6. Lucy West

     /  February 24, 2016

    Love and miss Lisa so much and love you and your girls dearly!

    Reply
  7. Meghan

     /  February 24, 2016

    Thank you for sharing. Thinking of you and your beautiful girls and remembering Lisa with love.

    Reply
  8. Beth

     /  February 24, 2016

    Your wife was such a fun college roomie! She loved to take road trips (we had some incredible Spring Breaks) and she loved to sing at the top of her lungs while being a road warrior. She was a TOUGH critic on any boys that we were interested in….rarely, were any of them good enough for her friends…they had to pass a Perm Test! Mine final choice barely squeaked by in the end! One of the strongest women I have been blessed in my life to call true friend. Miss my “Perm” ! Love to you all…always.

    Reply
  9. ALMA

     /  February 24, 2016

    Thinking of you and the girls today. Lisa was a very special person. Remember all the good times, because I know you had a lot.

    Reply
  10. K Hamilton

     /  February 24, 2016

    ….and I am also thankful that was fortunate enough to have known her ( and to have seen her in motion) Sending love to all of the Tanners!

    Reply
  11. Erin

     /  February 24, 2016

    She did have a way of making you feel you could be as brave as she was. She talked me into riding my first roller coaster–the Loch Ness Monster at Busch Gardens. I still haven’t ridden a lot of roller coasters, but any that I have are thanks to her!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  February 29, 2016

      Those were some fun trips! I remember driving the Y van on the ferry and acting like I was driving the boat. Fun memories.

      Reply
  12. Ashley

     /  February 24, 2016

    Bruce,

    I am an RN at Rex and had the pleasure of hearing from you during the seminar. Listening to you tell your story today was extremely eye opening and humbling. I know it could not have been easy but I appreciate you taking the time to tell us what healthcare is like from the patient/family point of view. As someone who sees very sick people almost everyday it can become easy to get swept up in the motions of tasks of the job. So thank you for reminding me about the other side of things. Thank you for opening up to complete strangers 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  February 29, 2016

      Man, I have so much respect for what you do. Thank you! It is truly a calling.

      Reply
  13. Beautiful memories. I’m so glad you shared some of the reasons you love her.

    Reply
  14. Tammy Byrd

     /  February 26, 2016

    Your post made me smile! What wonderful memories!!

    Reply
  15. Dee from Tennessee

     /  February 26, 2016

    What a gem of treasuries memories !!

    Reply
  16. Just such a beautiful piece of writing that made me feel I knew her and oozes with love from you to her …. I couldn’t of read this on a better day – it’s Mother’s Day in the uk and I’m thankful you shared your beautiful memories of love with the blogging world! Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

