CBS, Here We Come!

eggo tyson nuggets

Several years ago the girls and I ate dinner at Beasley’s Chicken and Honey downtown.  Mmmm.    They fry up this incredible hen and plop it on a homemade waffle, a little honey drizzled randomly over the bird.  A couple of weeks later, as I struggled with supper options, it hit me:  I could replicate Ashley Christensen’s (Beasley owner) entrée.  I already had the ingredients in the freezer.

I pulled out four Eggo’s and opened a bag of Tyson nuggets, a little Mrs. Buttersworth, and swala!, dinner was served.

I believe that may be how we were discovered.  She heard about my cooking prowess.

Last Thursday, I got a call around 5 PM.  The conversation went something like this:

“This is Jessica from the Rachael Ray Show.  Is this Danny Tanner from The Real Full House blog, the one who wrote the book Laughter, Tears and Braids?”

I assumed Uncle Jesse was punking me, but I chose to play along.

“This is Danny.”  Rachael must need some help in the kitchen, I thought to myself.  Probably working on chicken and waffles.

“I’d like to talk with you about your family.  If you’re interested, we would like to consider flying you and your girls up to be on the show.”

Well, I’ll have to see if I can fit you in between Ellen and dinner at the White house.  I’m receiving a Metal of Honor for my literary genius.

“We are finding that our male viewership is increasing.  We are working on segments that appeal to that audience.”

“So, this isn’t Jesse?”

“Jesse who?”

I didn’t get too excited.  I still wasn’t convinced this wasn’t some sort of elaborate hoax, and we’d had some odd offers before that didn’t pan out.  Three groups have talked to us about reality TV shows.  When I express that I’m not about to have open season in my living room with no editorial control, the conversations tend to wane.  A documentary on pushing through tough times I’d be interested in; the Raleigh version of Honey Boo Boo, not so much.

We’re supposed to fly out today.  I’m not exactly sure what will happen – I think they’re doing some videos of our family on Wednesday and the actual show will be taped on Thursday.  It could be a 15 second snippet with us pointed to in the audience, sort of like Funniest Home Videos, or perhaps we’ll get to sit at the kitchen table and sip on a cup-o-joe with the star.  Or maybe, just maybe, I’ll get to teach her how to make chicken and waffles.  Talk about a ratings bump!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Linda Leonard

     /  April 27, 2016

    How fun! Let us know when to set our DVR’s! It would be great fun to see an old friend on TV!

    Reply
  2. Yopp, Justin Michael

     /  April 27, 2016

    Very cool, Bruce! Excited to hear how it goes.

    J

    Reply
  3. Aunt Susan

     /  April 27, 2016

    Yeah are you really sure that Jesse didn’t do that? Is the GW student going to join you? Are you bringing back gifts? I do hope she REALLY talks to you, you have carried on through some tough times!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 1, 2016

      Not much conversation with RR, but we had an absolute blast!

      Reply
  4. Jo Nance

     /  April 27, 2016

    How fun! What do the girls think? Can’t wait!!

    Reply
  5. Fantastic! Go get ’em!

    Reply
  6. KittyLuvr

     /  April 27, 2016

    Please let your readers know when it will air!! I can’t wait to see it…and I would love to have seen your daughters faces when you told them!! Talk about eye-rolling! LOL

    Reply
  7. Yeah must share the recipe actually 🙂

    Reply
  8. Sara

     /  April 27, 2016

    This is very cool! If you’re actually going to be on the show, do let us know ahead of time! (I don’t normally watch Rachel Ray, but would definitely tune in for this.)

    Reply
  9. Carolanne Plummer

     /  April 27, 2016

    I’m so proud of you. And very proud to call you my friend. You are such a special person. I love you buddy and wish you all the best! You inspire me to be a better parent.

    Carolanne

    Reply
  10. Whoo hooo!! Congratulations! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Chris Lam

     /  May 1, 2016

    Dear Danny Tanner,

    My name is Chris Lam and i followed your blog for nearly 2 years. It helped me a lot. I lost my wife from gastric cancer 2.5 years ago. At that time, my daughter was 14 and my son was 10. It was a very tough journey for me. I do have a question for you. Mother’s day is coming and I want to know what is the best way to celebrate Mother’s Day. Thank you for your help.

    Chris >

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 9, 2016

      I hate that I’m just now seeing your message. The first few years, Mother’s Day was really hard. I hated it. It seemed like every commercial, school project, newspaper ad all were focused on mom. It was painful. I will say, as the years have gone by, we have been able to sit through the sermons and tune out the Mother’s Day chatter. On Sunday, the girls and I all went to a Y Body Pump fitness class and laughed our butts off. We then ate dinner with Lisa’s side of the family which was nice. I still think about her every day, but it isn’t so painful. Still unbelievable, but not painful most of the time. Keep going –

      Reply
  12. Mildred Burnette

     /  May 2, 2016

    That is awesome!!!! let us know when it airs!!!!

    Reply
  13. If RR is smart she will get you your own cooking show. I would tune in for that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

