Ninety-six Percent

I was at a concert last Friday night – it was an event for work.  I was excited when I ran into an old friend.  He knew Lisa.

I asked how he was doing.  He said, “96% great!  4% could be better.”  He teared up.  “Your experience taught me that can change at any given moment.”

I had some times where finding 4% good was a struggle.

My former boss gave me a journal the day after Lisa was diagnosed with cancer.  He told me to write down blessing that we found throughout the ordeal.  He had a son who had struggled with major health issues early in life.  He and his wife found value in listing the good things.

Lisa and I looked.  The good was very hard to see; in fact, I’m not sure there was any.

Now that I’m on the other side – much closer to a 96/4 good to bad ratio, you’d think I would spend my time focused on the 96%.  All too often, I zero in on the 4, looking for ways to get to 100.  The sad thing is that if I spend all my 96/4 time focused on the 4, I get no reprieve.  Surely I’ll have more times when the bad is the dominate percentage.  How awful to spend the really good times frustrated on the small things that aren’t going my way.

That 92.3 grade in English is not quite an A.  But it is damn near close!  Perhaps I shouldn’t remind my kid that she missed a 4.0 GPA by only .7 points.  She likely already knows.  Instead, we should have a party to celebrate that high B!

I have one zit.  But dag gone, the rest of my face looks pretty handsome if I do say so myself!

I don’t make as much money as that other dude at work (the one I clearly outperform), but I have a job I love, and I have plenty.

I want my kids to relish in the 96%.  I should too.  Life is so very good so much of the time.  To heck with the bad.  There isn’t really enough to waste time on.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Mel Ham

     /  October 5, 2016

    some how my happy spirited kid does relish in the higher percentage of happy. He reminds me constantly you worry too much. He rolls and stands back up. He does take a set back initially then moves on shortly there after. How did this happen? WE share genes. He is right it does always work out…work out being relative. This is timely Bruce. love and miss ya much!

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  October 5, 2016

    I love this post! It says it all. Life is about readjustments and looking for the good in it. Wayne always says, “Why waste any day of your life worrying over what is not right or might not be right in the future”. He’s right. We need to treasure each day. Life is short. Let’s get on with it and live it to it’s fullest.

    Reply
  3. I liken it to being “happy” or being “contented” – it’s unreasonable to expect to be “happy” all the time, but it sure is nice to be “contented” most of the time!

    Reply
  4. love this!

    “I don’t make as much money as that other dude at work (the one I clearly outperform), but I have a job I love, and I have plenty.”

    All is well. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the reminder. All too often I’m focusing on the bad.I love the idea of that journal.

    Reply
  1. Soli Deo Gloria | The Stay at Home Pastor

Leave a Reply

