Home Again, Home Again Zip-pa-di-da

ddd40767-abff-4d02-8968-f33d79215e0b

She came in on a train direct from Union Station.  It was Friday night, the week before Christmas.  I was so joyful.  DJ, my college sophomore, was returning for an entire month!

I was committed to our performance in the Christmas Carol play so her grandmother picked her up.  DJ was in a hurry because she had agreed to bar tend at a neighbor’s Christmas party for cash.  I’m so proud – my daughter, a barmaid.

I was amazed that she got her suitcase into the house.  It was the size of a pirate chest, but heavier.  She dropped it in the kitchen, its innards spilled out under the bar – she apparently had a quick change.

I called my buddy Jack to see if he could help me get the Samsonite up to her bedroom.  He couldn’t come over until the next day.  So when she got home, we broke the contents up into four laundry baskets and then carried the almost empty case up on its own.  My grandmother always said, “You can eat an elephant in small pieces.”

I do love my girl.

She had plans on Saturday night and spent Sunday night with high school friends.

Tuesday she went to the beach with the same high school friends.  She returned Wednesday night.  We ate dessert together.  Quality time.

On Thursday she returned to the coast to meet a dude from college for dinner, the one she just spent an entire semester with.

“Honey, do you think you’ll be able to stop by the house to receive your gifts on Christmas day?”  I was just wondering if I should perhaps mail them to a friend’s house.  She assured me she was free for the entire day.

I love that child.

I enjoy the memories of times gone by when she visits:

  • her bedroom floor unfindable due to the mound of clothes
  • arguments over earrings borrowed from siblings
  • bras and socks on the kitchen counter

Memories – beautiful memories.

Oh, and when she’s here, three drivers get to share two cars!  I love sharing.  She loves getting up in the morning to drop me off in the work carpool line.  She even packs my lunch (just kidding).

“I’ll pick you up at 5:30 dad.  Be waiting for me in the lobby of your building because I have dinner plans at 6.”

Before break she called home and said, “Dad, I’m a little worried about being home for a full month for Christmas.”

Worried?  What’s there to worry about?  This is heaven on earth.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Haha! I love it! Keep those memories close to you, because they are priceless. Yep, heaven on earth. I have 3 daughters and when my husband and I moved about 7 years ago to a new location, I thought, “Boy, it’s going to be peaceful.” I spoke too soon. The same Saturday of the week we moved, I was relaxing in my bed with the T.V. on and saying to myself, “Aaaahh” Then my home was invaded by 5 grown children (one was my son-in-law) and they brought their dog, too! When I knew anything, 3 grown daughter came into my bedroom, turned off my T.V. and all got in the bed with me just to talk!! Yep, precious memories. I’ll never forget that. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 16, 2017

      Man – my fingers are crossed. I hope my kids do the same as we age.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

