Better With Age

220px-trivialpursuit_token

The snow in Raleigh this past week was a bit disappointing.  There was a smidge covering a solid layer of sleet.  You can’t make a snowman out of sleet.

In year’s past, Lisa and I worked hard on these days to keep the girls from climbing the walls: snow angels, sledding, hot chocolate and tons of soaking wet laundry.  We were exhausted by their bedtime.

All of my kids were home last weekend, and there we were – with no plans and no strong desire to venture out.  Thus the beauty of their ages: 19, 16 and 14.  We are beginning to enjoy the same sorts of things.

My youngest and I sipped a hot cup-o-joe together.  I remember similar imbibes with my grandmother at her white, speckled linoleum kitchen table.  Michelle nearly used an entire bag of sugar to get the brown liquid drinkable, but I started that way too.

Stephanie and I went On Demand and began watching a new TV show on NBC, This Is Us.  We are nearly caught up on the first season, something we can enjoy all semester.  What a pleasant change from Barney.

DJ is spending a lot of time working out right now, so I introduced her to Tony Horton, the 50-year-old hunk who leads P-90X.  I happen to own a collection of his exercise CD’s.  We did the shoulder and arm video.  She hates Tony as much as I do and agrees with me that he has a major crush on Dreya who exercises on the mat next to him throughout the video.

“Clearly something is going on between them.”

“Yeah, I noticed that too.”

On Saturday night, we played Trivial Pursuit.  But knowing we aren’t the smartest family on the block, we decided to change it up a bit.  We reassigned the color categories and made up questions of our own.  You landed on Brown?  The topic was Family, and your team had to answer a question that the opposite team made up like:  In which city was each of your grandparents born?  Or, where did your mother attend middle school?

Pink was questions about church.  Yellow about the camp they attend.  Orange was school.  Green miscellaneous.

It took us three hours to determine a winner, but man did we have fun.  Oh, we learned a lot about each other as well.  That’s not a game we could have played five years ago.

Sometimes I lament the aging of my kids.  I wish they were younger, that I had more time with them.  I long to carry them in my arms from the car to the house, their little noggins nestled between my neck and my shoulder.

That was a sweet age.  But you know, this is too.  I imagine in ten years I will enjoy them even more.

Perhaps it is not the stage they are going through that strengthens my delight.  Perhaps it is the depth of our relationship that makes each year more precious to me.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Kim Rebecca Hasty

     /  January 11, 2017

    Thanks once again for sharing from the heart.

    Reply
  2. Kathy

     /  January 11, 2017

    I so enjoy your thoughts. I have always enjoyed my kids, 31 and 25, and the stage they are going through and I have always referred to it as a stage, but you are right on when you refer to it as the “depth of our relationship” as it is growing year by year and it is so precious to me also. Thanks for the new insight!

    Reply
  3. Very insightful!
    Stay blessed

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  January 12, 2017

    Only you 4 would think to change up trivial pursuit and have such a good time playing it.
    what fun.

    Reply
  5. Mom

     /  January 13, 2017

    You’re right, Susan. They’re the most creative bunch I’ve seen when it comes to entertaining themselves.

    Reply
  6. Kristen

     /  January 20, 2017

    I’m just warning you now. . . This is Us–you WILL become addicted to that show! (That is, if you aren’t already, and seeing as how you’re almost caught up on the first season, I would venture to guess that you likely are :). I started watching it when the season first started, and OH. . .GOOD. . .GRIEF! It’s a GREAT show, but I swear I can’t make it through an episode without the Kleenex right next to me! A lot of the folks I work with are also watching, and we have frequent discussions–I think it’s great that you have someone to watch with you, and how cool that it’s one of your daughters :). I’ve tried to get my husband to watch with me, but he won’t. . . he prefers to tease me with his “insightful” comments & tries to figure out the “secret formula” to the show–AKA why I emerge from the other room each week with red eyes and Kleenex in hand. Wow, what a long-winded comment, I know–enjoy reading your posts, as always–but just couldn’t help myself when I saw “This is Us” smack dab in the middle of this one–enjoy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

