An Ode to Nowak

 

Roses are red,

Homework is a bore,

Why do my kids wait to put the massive poetry project together

 the night before?

 

She knew it was coming,

and I did too.

Her sisters made the same mistake,

The night ends with boo – hoo.

 

Due in three weeks,

 she wrote hard for the first.

Then set it aside,

Oh Lord, we’ll be cursed.

 

I got back to the house

at 10 PM from a meeting,

the project was due in 10 hours,

was even too late for some cheating.

 

She wrote haiku, a couplet,

free verse and a sonnet,

Dad, get the glue out and the hole punch,

Although late, I was on it!

 

The writing was easy,

Putting it together was not.

A nice binder, and drawings,

The presentation, a lot.

 

With colored pencils, and crayons

And glue and some tape,

She worked and she worked,

Michelle was up really late.

 

And me, well I watched.

I coached from the side,

And picked up little round papers

from the hole punch til I thought I would die.

 

This is my last child

to learn from Mr. Nowak.

He has motivated my daughters

And taught them Shakespearean clack.

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Debbie Williams

     /  March 29, 2017

    What an incredibly talented family you are! Ukulele, singing and now poetry? I am very impressed. :).
    Your blog is wonderful. Reading your book as well. Thank you for sharing your story in such a warm, honest and humorous way.
    Debbie

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  April 4, 2017

      You would be surprised what we might come up with!

      Reply
  2. Aunt Susan

     /  March 30, 2017

    looks like he taught you a few things too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Jennifer

     /  April 17, 2017

    I used to teach next door to Nowak; this ode made me 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

