Not from around here…

I was in San Diego last week for a conference.  It’s a really cool place – with really cool people.

I thought I was kinda cool.  After going there, I discovered I am not.  I am so, so not.

I also thought I was fairly open-minded, accepting of others and new ideas.  But maybe not so much either.

On Friday night, I went out in the Gaslamp neighborhood.  This borough sort of reminded me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans.  There was lots to see and do.  Skimpy clothes.  Lots of body art.  Piercings galore.  I’m good with all that.  I actually find it interesting to observe different kinds of people.

What I didn’t expect was a female bathroom attendant in the men’s john!

I walked into a fairly small area, a couple of guys in line before me, and there she was – tending the sink.  I don’t remember what she looked like or what she was wearing.  I tried hard to look the other way.  I did recognize that she was doing a great job of attending.  She’d pump the soap right into your hand and have a drying towel ready when you finished rinsing.  Her counter was full of essentials: hair gel, lotions, cologne.  She even offered a plethora of tobacco products for your liking.

When I approached the urinal, a young dude on my right and she on my left, I thought to myself you ain’t in Raleigh anymore.  Her phone rang, she answered.  The line of full bladders was growing outside the door.

I tried to concentrate for I really needed to go.  But I couldn’t.  There was simply too much for this simpleton.  I walked out as full as I’d entered.

I don’t want to be the person who gets stuck, who can’t accept the progressions of the world.  I could end up having a daughter who decides to build a career in the bathroom service industry.  I don’t want to thwart anyone’s potential.  And I hate this was bothersome to me.  But indeed it was!

My father accepted women Deacons in our church, and he was not raised with that mentality.  Perhaps I too will warm up to this idea.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Allyson Nolen

     /  May 10, 2017

    Thank you for another laugh out loud moment. I thought going to the restroom in China was bad, but at least I never had a man as the bathroom attendant.

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  May 10, 2017

    Yea, I could see that as being a problem. You just can’t be distracted at that moment. Especially by a member of the opposite sex. I don’t think it’s about the sexes. I think it’s just about just having that few moments alone to take care of business and be on your way. I have a friend who was visiting in a church member’s home who asked to use the bathroom before she left the member’s house. The lady said, “sure” and gladly accompanied my friend to her bathroom, stood in the doorway while my friend used the bathroom with the door open and gazing at her and talking to her the whole time my friend was using the bathroom. Now that’s an event for you. I would have had to also just leave and find a handy bush in that case. There are just some things that you deserve a moment without observation in this life.

    Reply
  3. Evie Lichti

     /  May 13, 2017

    There ya’ go . . . they don’t call it the “left coast” for nuthin’! Some of us left and some will never leave!

    Evie

    Reply
  4. Ac Snow

     /  May 16, 2017

    Hi Bruce,
    Especially enjoyed your col on being cool….it inspired me to think about finishing col I had started about the use of the word “cool.” Would you mind if I quoted from your experience…would go anonymous if you like…Our Katherine and my wife send good wishes. I admire you very much for the example you’ve set after the terrible loss of the love of your life. . Thanks…ac

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12,035 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us