Soft Scrub is Your Friend

Posted by Danny

I think Lisa taught me about Soft Scrb, the all purpose kitchen cleanser, not long after we got married.  We purchased a house that was built in the 1950’s and the tubs were nasty.  She tried everything she could find to clean them and the only two things that seemed to make a dent in the dirt were Comet and Soft Scrub.

We have a housekeeper who cleans for us every other week.  I don’t do very much in between her visits.  Stephanie and Michelle brush their teeth in my bathroom most mornings and don’t know how to wash toothpaste spit down the sink.  About day 5 I get grossed out enough to take a damp cloth and wipe their Crest remnants away.  That’s about the extent of the cleaning in this house by those who inhabit these walls.

But today, I sort of got motivated to do some countertop cleaning in the kitchen.  And I have fallen in LOVE with Soft Scrub!!!

We have a glass top stove.  I never much paid it attention to it until I became the official head of this household last year.  Now, I see how disgusting it gets.  Lisa never cooked that much but when she did, she wasn’t a burner.  I apparently like my food well done because I can burn a boiled egg, grilled cheese, mac and cheese, asperagus, toast – you name it, I can burn it.  My cooking theory memics my outlook on life.  Move on with it – no time to slowly warm things.  On my stove there is really no need for a low or medium setting; I don’t have time for that.  If something needs to get hot, and with virtually everything you cook that’s what you’re aiming for, heat it up as quickly as possisble. 

So, every time I cook on the stove, something invariably overflows onto the burner.  And that leaves a nasty, crispy residue.

I’ve tried glass cleaner.  It is a glass top stove, makes sense doesn’t it?  Doesn’t work.  It does not get spilled, burned on spaghetti sauce off of the burner. 

I’ve tried 409 – when I was growing up, that was like household penicillin.  Not anymore.  Sure it’ll get a fingerprint off a door, but it doesn’t stand a chance to a stainless steel pot stain on a fiberglass sink.

But Soft Scrub – ahh.  The cleaner that keeps on cleaning.

Burned on Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup – no problem.

Pizza pan scrapes on your sink – no problem.

BEFORE...

And AFTER.

Red wine on your white countertops – no problem.

BEFORE...

and AFTER.

I once used it to get steak juice off of my kid’s white shirt.  It works! 

I might try whitening my teeth with it.

When you’re running a household unexpectedly by yourself, it’s good to have help.  Jesse is good.  My parents are helpful.  My in-laws rock.  But Soft Scrub is always there for me.  Day or night – bleaching out the stains of my life.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Alice Key

     /  April 11, 2011

    Do I dare to share with you that even better than Soft Scrub is Soft Scrub with bleach? Same bottle, but with a green label. All those things that Soft Scrub does, it does even faster and better. Be warned – it bleaches everything, including clothes you didn’t know you splashed with your cleaning vigor!

    Reply
  2. My mother uses a combination of Soft Scrub and an aluminum S.O.S. pad to clean the caramelized spots on her white/gray gas stove. She says the combinationis the only thing that takes the dark spots off. I tried, and I believe that she is right.
    I also want to give credit to something called Bar Keeper’s Friend, a good dry cleanser.

    Reply
  3. Patti

     /  April 11, 2011

    Soft Scrub, I think, is the friend of people who don’t really like to clean – it does so much! I like it as much as I can like any cleaning agent – and I’m with Alice – bleach is the way to go!

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  April 11, 2011

    yeah bleach is good, but only is clothes you don’t care about. I have ruined more clothes with that bleach, but I did have clean counters!

    Reply
  5. Thunderbear

     /  April 11, 2011

    Great product placement! Commercials should not be too far behind. You crack me up!

    Reply
  6. Courtney

     /  April 13, 2011

    Um… I cooked spaghetti at your house last week… Is that the burned spilled over spaghetti sauce you were speaking of?? 🙂

    Reply
  1. A fly on horse poop « The Real Full House

Leave a Reply

