Sunday Post 28: Loud Silence

Today I’m dropping Stephanie off at Camp Seafarer for two weeks.  DJ is already there – she’s staying for four.  It’s 26 nights away for her, not that I’m counting.

Although I never loved the kids going away, I used to look forward to time with just Lisa.  I remember the first time all of the kids were gone for a week at one time.  We’d get up 30 minutes before we had to be at work, rush out with a quick kiss.  We’d meet at home late, 7 or 7:30 pm after giving our all to our jobs.  And then, then the fun would begin. 

A late, slow dinner out.  A glass or two of wine, maybe even split a dessert.  Well, I’d eat most of it.

We’d come home at 10 to a quiet house.  It was actually a welcome change. 

Not so much any more.

I don’t like being alone.  I used to try to get the entire family to go with me to pick out a new pair of pants.

Danny:  “Let’s go to the mall.”

Lisa:  “Why?”

Danny:  “I need a new pair of pants.”

Lisa: “Then you go get them.”

Danny:  “Wouldn’t it be fun for us all to go?  I’ll spring for dinner at the food court.”

Lisa:  “Three kids at the mall while you shop for pants?  No.  That’s not fun.  You go get your pants and then take us all to dinner!”

So, I’m working on enjoying being alone.  But it’s just not that fun.   The quiet reverberates – loudly.

I’ll make plans, got friends and there’s Jesse.  Michelle comes home Wednesday from grandparent’s house. 

Who knows?  I may go to the food court and buy some new pants.  And begin to get used to a life that’s not loud.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wren

     /  July 31, 2011

    Hey Bruce –

    Do you like to play golf? Robert would love to treat you to a round!! If not, how about dinner with libations?! We’d love to see you!! w&r

    Reply
  2. I know what you mean about silence. My kids have been gone all summer. I try to appreciate the freedom, but I will be happier when they are home.

    Reply
  3. With six kids any time there is silence it is golden! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pam D.

     /  February 18, 2012

    I can so relate to many of your posts. My husband passed away last April. Sundays are such long days. Trying to carry on a new “normal” with two teens. You can never anticipate how all of the “firsts” will be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

