Sunday Post 134: Birthing a Book

On Wednesday I’ll sort of launch my book, Laughter, Tears and Braids.  It’s been a long time in the making.  Sort of like a three-year pregnancy, minus the physical discomfort.

I’ve really struggled to get to the point where I’m comfortable with the final product.  And in reality, I’m still not there.

Have I shared too much?

Could my reflections hurt someone else?

What would Lisa think?

What if it’s really poorly written, and I’m too close to see that?

What if no one laughs?

What if no one cries?

When I finally let my kids read it, what will they think?

At one point about three months ago I got so worked up about going to press that I almost pulled the plug.  I decided that maybe I’d just print out a copy for each of my girls to be read on their 21st birthday.

But something nagged at me – you’ve got a story that needs to be told.  There are some issues you’ve written about that could be helpful to others.  You’ve worked so hard on this.

So – here it goes.  It’s about too late to back out. It’ll be up on Amazon Wednesday, and I’m moving on.

I apologize in advance for the following:

*I wrote about a few of you, but likely changed your name in order to not hurt feelings.  If you figure out who you are and don’t like what I wrote, I’m sorry.  If I left it in, I felt it was a critical part of the story.

*There are a few cuss words – my wife was dying, I was mad at the time!

*There could be typos – good lord I’ve tried, even paid an editor.  But every time I reread the dang thing, I find at least one more.

*It’s a pretty good book I think, but it ain’t Shakespeare.  If you’re expecting professional, it’s amateur.  I’d suggest you read something else.

If you decide to read it, thank you.  If you like it, I hope you’ll spread the word.  If you don’t, mum’s the word!

Oh, and if you’re planning to order, my publisher says that the more copies purchased on the launch day, September 11, the better the book’s placement on Amazon.  If you think of it, put your order in Wednesday.

Thanks!

Danny

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  September 8, 2013

    YAAAA! You’ve finally done it. It you had pulled it I would have taken you to the woodshed. I’m sure that if I had asked Aunt Susan, she would have helped me with that little job. You needed to tell this story. There are too many people dealing with struggles like this. It does help to know someone has been there before and waded through the pain. When you Dad laughs so hard one minute and sheds tears the next, it must be pretty good. He’s pretty placid about most things.

    Reply
  2. megmcl@mindspring.com

     /  September 8, 2013

    Can’t wait to read it! I love your writing and style. It will be a wonderful addition to our library, I am sure. I have our reservation in.

    Meg and Bo

    Reply
  3. Mel Ham

     /  September 8, 2013

    AT 1130pm I was on page 171. I couldn’t put it down. I took to the bathroom and bathtub to read. The water turned cold kept filling it back up. I left the bed at 1145 because I just could not sleep. You Bruce ham provide the safety railing to all of us. I have suspected this all along. I was able to get up to the edge and look over but had that guard rail. You however because of the truest devotion and commitment to Lisa got thrown off. You would have had it any other way. It was your job and you are richer for getting as intimate as a person can to another. I never understood the Steel Magnolia comment about how precious it is to be there for the last breath. Precious. But I see it now. Unbearably traumatic, hard, broken hear-ted but necessary. I feel a bit this morning like I am reliving a movie a sad sad movie. I have created in my mind what all of it was like. My setting is still in tact but now the story the true story is there. REally the book could be called Grace. Lisa’s, yours, ours, and God’s. When folks have thought Bruce should be here there at his stage of grief this book reveals all the behind the scenes of enduring you did. I again have said no one knows what bruce witnessed during this short fight. I am so proud of you and love you even more (if that is possible) that I did before. Lastly, I am glad that your father and mother taught you and your brother (to which I also benefit) what true love and romance are. What being love in being yourself is and that it can love someone for who they are the good, the bad and the hard hard times. thanks for doing this. I miss her today very much but it is necessary. Love much …love regardless Mel

    Reply
    • Mel Ham

       /  September 8, 2013

      I too have typos. You mom would say that I have so much to say and my fingers are too slow in that way that she gives support.

      Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  September 8, 2013

      I think this book may be harder to read than I originally thought.

      Reply
  4. Charlotte

     /  September 8, 2013

    Proud of you for seeing this through!!!

    Reply
  5. Mary Tyrey

     /  September 8, 2013

    Danny. You are absolutely awesome. Congratulations and many thanks for creating this wonderful ‘Laughter,Tears and Braids. Heartfelt, Mary Tyrey

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  6. When someone’s truth is told, typos and second thoughts tend to fade; his truth far outshines them. And, sometimes, cuss words are like exclamation points. They can be cumbersome when overused but drive the point home when placed just right. 😉

    Reply
  7. Aunt Susan

     /  September 8, 2013

    To your Mom, I would have built the woodshed! This is way too important to not share and the girls deserve to know what you have been feeling. It will be something that they will pull out and read again and again. As for typos, I read too many books with typos that were “professional” so I wouldn;t worry. Besides what else would I have to rag you about?

    Reply
  8. STS

     /  September 8, 2013

    Will do for sure!!!! Exciting!

    Sent from my iPhone Kim Balentine Check out my website at http://kimboriginals.com

    Reply
  9. I can’t wait to read it! I might not be able to wait until it makes it to the e-reader

    Reply
  10. You make us all proud! Blessings for doing something this hard. Others I’m sure will reap the benefits. I’m sure it’s been very cathartic for you. Keep your chin up.
    Love ‘n prayers – Evie

    Reply
  11. Kathryn Koonce

     /  September 9, 2013

    Will there be a local book signing?!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  September 9, 2013

      Nah – Quail Ridge won’t work with Amazon authors – plus, I’m not sure it’s worthy of signing!

      Reply
  12. teamrowlands

     /  September 10, 2013

    I look forward to your book. I will look for it on Wednesday. You DO have a wonderful story to tell! I have enjoyed your blog and I’m sure I will enjoy the book. Congratulations to you on your bravery, vulnerability, and sense of humor. All the best to you and your lovely family.

    Reply
  13. Cynthia F

     /  September 10, 2013

    On-line only sales or is it going to be available at Barnes & Noble? Congratulations on having the courage to share your story. I am looking forward to reading it.

    Reply
  14. John Burns

     /  September 18, 2013

    You needn’t have worried, my friend. Just amazing. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

