Sunday Post 139: Thank You

I don’t say thank you enough.  I’m not sure why.

This afternoon I was climbing out of the car after picking Michelle up from dance class.

“Will you grab my book bag dad?”  Her hands were full with her dance stuff.

“Sure Chelle.”

“Thank you daddy.”

She said thank you.  What a good kid.

I work with the most amazing people.  I believe it truly may be the most fun hallway of offices in the world.  Don’t get me wrong, we produce.  We get stuff done, just not at the expense of having fun!

Not only do we laugh, but this group of people who I spend more time with than my kids, walked me through, day by day and sometimes hour by hour, the toughest time of my life.  And yet, I seldom thank them for all that they do for me every, single day.

There are people at my church that I’m close to that I admire so much.  Never tell them.  Others, I look up to from a distance – and I see such compassion, such love for mankind.  They’re the ones setting up for the homeless families who periodically sleep at our church.  They volunteer to clean the sanctuary or build shelves for a closet.  Humility.  Bet I’m not the only one who forgets to thank them.

Occasionally I write notes, I guess writing is easier for me than actually saying.  I need to make time to do that more often.

By the way, those of you who have supported my family – with a listening ear, or a carpool, or hand me downs, or by purchasing my book (even if you really didn’t want to read it) – thank you!  You mean a lot to me, even though I don’t always show it.

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Hi, I have just returned from Church. The reading was about the ten lepers, one returned to thank Jesus. He was made whole. Thanking others verbally brings healing and blessing to those you talk to. God likes to be Blessed by us and Thanked as well. It causes an overflow, love flowing from the Father God to us and love going back from us to the Father.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 13, 2013

      We just don’t take the time to say it enough do we?

      Reply
    • @angelamccauley – I’d forgotten about this story. What a good reminder.. and it’s so true that the act of thanking someone blesses both people.

      @Danny Tanner – I often remember to thank Jesus for the blessings I receive but I don’t always tell the people who bless me how much I appreciate them. Life gets in the way some days but it’s worth it to take the extra time to edify those who make investments into our lives, great or small.

      Reply
  2. jo

     /  October 13, 2013

    I have your book on my Kindle. I read it because I wanted to. I love you guys! THANK YOU!

    Reply
  3. Frances Maffitt

     /  October 13, 2013

    I need to say a very big THANK YOU to you! Your blog and now your very inspiring book have been a gift …to me and many of your readers. You and I have never met; my daughter lives in Raleigh and introduced your blog . Here is my written thank you but I do hope one day to give you a verbal thank you!.
    Sincerely,
    Frances Maffitt
    Easton, MD

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 13, 2013

      I look forward to meeting you in person. Thank you so much for reading.

      Reply
  4. Annette Heath

     /  October 13, 2013

    Thank you for your amazing book. I couldn’t put it down and read it fully within a day and a half – stopping of course because of things I absolutely HAD TO DO, and couldn’t wait to get back to it. It was a journey of love and grief that wet the pages of my copy. As a former resident of Raleigh for ten years (I love that city), who worked for Wake County Hospice for seven of those years, I can say thank you for putting into words what many of us find so difficult to do. I was grateful to you many times for being able to share the gut wrenching moments of grief…those moments most of us suffer in silence. They say one has to go through grief, that there is no other way to heal….you proved it. Thank you for that validation. We all bear enormous sadness and grief at times in our lives. Thank you for giving words to those times when loss and grief is so overwhelming. Just one request….should you ever have a second printing….please include a wedding photo of you and Lisa. Maybe someday you will post one….
    Annette Heath

    Reply
  5. Thank you Bruce ❤ Love to you all, the West Coast Permars

    Reply
  6. Alma Cutler

     /  October 17, 2013

    Now it’s my turn to say Thank You. Your book was great, what a wonderful husband and father you have been. Lisa would have been proud of you.

    Reply
  7. I like all your blogs but the sunday posts have been the best in my opinion. Keep up these good posts, (I don’t just mean Sunday posts).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

