Where is God?

This won’t be the first time I’ve wondered why God doesn’t step in to fix the situation at hand.  I’ve wondered when I’ve seen mass shootings that seem so needless.  I’ve wondered with terrorist activities.  I’ve wondered when those among us die at an early age or when I’ve seen, in my work at the Y, a child who has been physically or emotionally abused.  Does He not see the suffering?  How can He not act, not do something to get His world back in order?

If I were God, certainly I would immediately knock Corona to its knees.  Or, perhaps step in early on and not allow it to happen in the first place.  Where the heck is He?

As I sit in my five bedroom, 3800 square foot house, my most recent vacation still dancing in my mind; my children in private schools; my refrigerator so full I can hardly get the door closed; my twenty rolls of toilet paper scattered throughout my many bathrooms; my healthy children sleeping late with the ability to begin their online classes this week; my beautiful fiancé safe and sound at her home in Charlotte; I scoff at myself for even questioning why I’ve been thrown a curve ball this week.  Seriously, I am complaining about anything?  It’s ridiculous.

I don’t believe that God punishes us, but if He was a God who did that, He would certainly have reason.  Look what we’ve done to our earth?  This quarantine has given God’s creation a chance to rebound from the incessant wear and tear we put upon it.  He might want me to stop dreaming about more and to be satisfied and thankful for all that He has already given me.  Who knows?  He might take all of this, and make something better than we could ever imagine.

But I don’t think that God is intentionally trying to teach us lessons by creating hard times.  No, I think that the world just happens, and God picks up the pieces, supports us, often through our friends and neighbors, and puts us back together.

I’ve seen this story before.  I’ve experienced really hard times and come out stronger for it.  With time and patience, if you watch closely, you might see His hand at work again.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Deanne

     /  March 25, 2020

    I love your heart. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Velma Gray

     /  March 25, 2020

    A awesome reminder of God’s goodness…He will take care of us!

    >

    Reply
  3. Anthony J Quartararo

     /  March 25, 2020

    This situation amplifies the inequities in our capitalistic system where your zip code and color of your skin skews your future, If there is a God They are shining a bright light on the failure of our society to care for the least of these and the continuing greed of Corporations and individuals who focus on stock buy backs, 401ks and not their neighbor. Peace

    Reply
  4. Jean B Ham

     /  March 25, 2020

    That is a well thought out blog. We can never fully understand why God allows bad things to happen. I find myself asking God to bring this virus to an end fast but I have to know that everything that happens on this earth is not going to be good because we live in an imperfect world. I do believe that God will be there to help us deal with the hard stuff if we ask. It may be by helping us deal with our situations and see ways to live in the middle of this mess better. We have to weather this thing. Might as well roll up our sleeves and go at it!

    Reply
  5. Faye Humphrey

     /  March 25, 2020

    Well said

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11.9K other subscribers
  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us