Sunday Post 188: Good Day

photo

I remember getting my first Izod shirt for a birthday.  I coveted the alligator!  I picked out the color in advance – burgundy with a green crocodile.  When September 29th rolled around, I tore open the package.  I looked so stinkin’ cool!  Sam McDade had NOTHIN’ on me when I pulled out that shirt.  I think I wore it every Wednesday.

I didn’t really care about anything else.  Cake was irrelevant.  Those celebrating with me?  Not as important as that left chest emblem.

I was 15, and t was ALL Izod for me.

Last week I turned 49.  I didn’t get a shirt, but what  I did get was so much more.

Michelle painted a jar with blue and red polka dots and filled it with my favorite candy:  peanut M & Ms.  She taped a small glittered card on the side:  For my sweet and nutty dad!  Buying those boogers must have put her in the poor house.  Interesting way for a kid to spend her savings.

Stephanie took time on my birthday eve to short sheet my bed.  I understand she was intent on an effective stunt.  It clearly took her a while, because there wasn’t a wrinkle in the covers when I crawled in at midnight.  Although I didn’t find it very amusing at the end of my day I was tired.  But when I awoke the next morning, I decided it was probably a fairly appropriate way to celebrate her father.

My mom made me my favorite birthday cake – it’s enormous!  Chocolate, fudge-like icing as thick as a slice of bread.  When her baking career is over, my years of eating that cake are done.  There isn’t anyone else in this world who can or would make that thing for me.  It’s an eight hour process.  I think she must love me.

My mother-in-law picked out a six pack of my favorite wines.  She told me I was getting to the age that gifts should be consumable!  That’ll last me a while.  Took more thought than an Izod ever could.

Oh, and my oldest, DJ, she came through too.   She texted everyone in the family and asked them their favorite song.  She then made a compilation CD.  We took a college tour the day after she gave it to me.  On our way down I-95, we listened to the 15 tunes, and I guessed the family member who chose each one.

It was a thoughtful and hilarious gift.  John Denver was represented as was Outcast.  From Frozen to Blue Grass to “We Need a Little Christmas,” my mom’s favorite holiday tune, there was a wide range of genres represented.  I’ll listen to that CD until it simply won’t play anymore.

DJ added my current favorite song in the mix and it appropriately represents last Monday, Good Day by Nappy Roots:

Hope yours is as meaningful as mine was this year.  Can’t wait til 50!

Purchase Danny’s Book Laughter, Tears and Braids: Amazon or Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh

If you have read the book and are willing to write a short review, it would be helpful:Click here. And thanks

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. The Izod shirt took me back: I spent my graduation money on a “real” shirt with the alligator. All your gifts sound great, but the CD is an idea that I might borrow. Happy birthday!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday! Don’t think your 50 next year will top this one, but I’m sure they’ll try. (LOL on the short sheet!)

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday!!!
    That is one extremely delicious looking cake!
    That CD should hold up a lot longer than the mix tapes from when you where 15 😉

    Reply
  4. Andee

     /  October 5, 2014

    I think the Stately Studs should do a calendar at age 50. And I agree that is one extremely delicious looking cake. Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  5. What a great birthday! It’s wonderful that at 15, you got exactly what you wanted – and now just a few years later, you again, got exactly what you wanted 🙂 It’s neat to see how we’ve grown as people, and I think BD presents are a great representation of that growth!

    Reply
  6. mel ham

     /  October 8, 2014

    I know this cake well. I don’t think anyone in the family dares to try to fix it. It’s sacrilegious for anyone but mae. it’s well worth the 1800 calories per slice. It’s a day worth of nourishment

    Reply
  7. I think I’m going to make my kids read this blog. your girls rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

